Tags

, , , ,

And the winter adventures continue here in Rome. I woke up early, as I had two hour-long lessons in the school’s center this morning. Overnight, the snow managed to stick and accumulate to about two or three inches.

Unfortunately, my biggest problem is not a little bit of snow. Instead, our water heater has been broken since Thursday. Couple this with snow and the weekend (Thursday is close enough to the weekend, right?!) and our water heater is still broken. Now it really is the weekend and it’s become very apparent that it will be at least Tuesday before I get a proper bath.

Anyway, I got ready and left the house by 8 a.m. to what was a ghost town. I was one of about five people outside. No roads plowed, no sidewalks shoveled or salted. I was free to cross the street at my leisure, instead of running for my life, while dodging speeding cars and motorbikes. It was bizarre.

Forty-five minutes later I reached work to find out that both of my students cancelled their lessons because they were “trapped.” I did mention that there was only about three inches of snow maximum, didn’t I?

No matter. I stayed at the school for a while to prepare for some of next week’s lessons, and then locked up and headed off. By the time I got back into my neighborhood, the city had undergone some sort of transformation. People were outside. They were laughing, stopping in the street to take pictures, building snowmen and throwing snowballs. It’s not cold enough in Rome for the snow to remain for long, which means that it is super wet outside. But, no matter! It’s snow! And it’s in Rome!

It was quite charming to see Romans embracing the weather. I decided to join in and dropped my stuff at the apartment, grabbed my camera, and hit the bar for a late breakfast of a cornetto con crema and cioccolato caldo. (By the way, hot chocolate in Italy is nothing to sneer at. It’s super rich and not at all sweet. Also, the whipped cream tastes like an actual dairy product as opposed to sweetened air that is sold in the States.)

After that, I went to the center of town and hit up Piazza di Spagna to take some pictures. Here are some photos of a snow-covered Rome:

1. My street, Viale delle Provincie, in the snow. | 2. A church near Piazza Barberini. | 3. Near Piazza di Spagna. | 4. The Spanish Steps. | 5. Piazza di Spagna.

P.S. Just an observation. But, as someone who has spent the past seven winters in Chicago, it was super hilarious to see Romans in the snow. Judging by what I saw today, apparently about 1 in 8 Romans think that 30 degree weather and a few inches of rapidly melting snow warrants ski pants. It was like wandering around an ancient Aspen.

