Tags

, ,

Parts of Italy have been getting snow, which has made the Romans very panicky.

Most of the last week has been gloomy and wet. And, while my family up north got a lot of snow, rain has been persisting here. I was teaching at a middle school yesterday when we found out that classes would be cancelled today. (Yay for me! No middle school class today! Roman middle schoolers are the worst.) And, this morning, my morning student called me after I already pulled myself out of bed to tell me that he wasn’t going into work today. Meno male.

Alas, still no snow. Coming from Chicago, this is hilarious. After a few years there, you build up a tolerance toward painfully cold weather and wind and relentless snow. Romans, on the hand, have what I consider to be an absurd fear of wintry weather– bundling up with scarves, hats, hoods, and gloves for 50 degree weather, while 50 degrees in Chicago means short-sleeves and a windbreaker.

Well, you’ll be happy to know that the snow day hasn’t been in vain. After a rainy and skeptical morning, acqua neve began to fall and, within the past hour, it has turned into verifiable snow. Fat clumps of wet snow that is beginning to stick. And, I never thought that I would say this, but it’s making me a little nostalgic for Chicago winters.

I had some errands to run today, but I think I’m going to adopt the Roman attitude towards the snow. (That is, the attitude of “But, it’s snowing! What do you expect me to do?! You can’t possibly expect me to go out in that!)

Anyway, here is the view from my apartment window.

Meanwhile, my laundry has been hanging out to dry since Sunday and it just keeps getting wetter and wetter. I guess I’ll be shopping for underwear and socks this weekend.

